Home » Abuse » Please Add Your Name to the G.R.A.C.E. Petition

Please Add Your Name to the G.R.A.C.E. Petition

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month…
I realize the topic of this blog is an uncomfortable subject for most.  I sincerely believe that each voice can  raise awareness and make a difference whether it be by survivors telling our accounts and/or those willing to advocate for survivors and educate the faith-based community about this atrocity that devastates lives and sadly is often perpetrated in my Saviors name. 

One way you can help is free, takes little effort, and will only take a few moments. Would you please be so kind and sign the following petition asking all professing Christians to better address the subject of sexual abuse?

A Public Statement Concerning Sexual Abuse in the Church of Jesus Christ by Godly Response to Abuse in the Christian Environment (G.R.A.C.E.)

Your signature will be such a great encouragement,

Cathy

 

 

Psalm 56-8

 

3 thoughts on “Please Add Your Name to the G.R.A.C.E. Petition

  1. I also am a victim of abuse. The church abused psychologically but a particular man in the church chose the evil satanic path of abusing me and his daughter from very early ages until we were graduates from high school. Too much hurt and too much pain from that era. I thought getting away BJU would be a relief from it all. I fell into the books very hard the first year. It was the second year when a girl tried to beat me up that disillusioned all my senses. I thought for sure that someone would step in and put her in another room or away from any of us. It turned out that I was the one at fault and everyone chose to side with this person. So I was the one approached about moving out of the room. I say she tried to beat me up because about 3 or 4 girls held her by her waist to keep her away from me. So that year I said it wasn’t worth anyone trying or not to hurt me anymore.

    • Beverly,

      So very sorry for the abuse you and this man’s daughter endured in your home church.

      Even though what you say about having been blamed blamed for attempted physical assault is horrifying, it isn’t an unusual story! I know that may not give you much comfort, but please know you’re not alone.

      Have you contacted G.R.A.C.E.? The investigation is still on-going. Please pm me on facebook if you need more info about how to contact G.R.A.C.E.

      IMO, they would put you on the list as those they would want to interview,

      Cathy

  2. Not just sexual abuse. Churches have too often covered up physical abuse, mental abuse, emotional abuse, and neglect as well as sexual abuse. Let the church arise, stand against all abuse, and stand for righteousness for even the smallest in the congregations. The present and future generations deserve nothing less.

Thoughts?

