Home » Abuse » “Let Her Scream. No One Will Hear Her”

“Let Her Scream. No One Will Hear Her”

My abusers were married, charismatic, ‘nice’ upstanding, members of society.  All were fundamental Christians.  Most were pastors and some were well-known leaders of the fundamentalist movement.

One of these men was known for being a fire-brand of his time.  He founded a seminary.  Had a radio program.  Led many protests defending freedom and faith. Was the founder and president one of the original and most militant Fundamental pastor counsels.

He was then, and still is well-known, even revered, by fundamentalists.

Yet, he paid Cleo to sexually assault me.  One of my earliest and most vivid memories was of this man is I was screaming and crying in agony as he abused my little body.  I think this took place before I was old enough to begin Kindergarten.

I remember I was crying and screaming for him to stop.  I was in agony and even Cleo said something about how I sounded as if he were murdering me.

His reply was “Let her scream.  No one will hear her.”

He continued to abuse me for many years.  Most of time the abuse took place at the farm.  However, there were many other occasions when I was taken to his church in a neighboring state, and to conferences he led in places including Washington, DC and all the way down to Cape Canaveral and Palm Beach Florida.

Recently a friend mentioned this man was honored as a man in the history of a well-established American Denomination.  In and of itself that is confusing because he railed against this denomination, but never-the-less there he is.

Even after I named this man and turned over documents about him and other abusers as part of an investigation…..

“Let her scream.  No One will hear her.”  Perhaps he was right.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Would you please be so kind and sign the following petition asking all professing Christians to better address the subject of sexual abuse?

A Public Statement Concerning Sexual Abuse in the Church of Jesus Christ by Godly Response to Abuse in the Christian Environment (G.R.A.C.E.)

 

Psalm 56-8

 

Note:

My life has been greatly affected by the abuse.

First of all, I have very good reasons for not naming my abusers.  No doubt this is my prerogative if and when I choose to publish their names publicly.  I have given names to investigators.  Which investigators is also confidential at this time.

It has taken me more than half of my life to tell my story and it is extremely hurtful when people accuse me of lying. I can assure you that my story is real and that I lived through this hell. If you choose not to believe me, that is your prerogative. However, this is my blog and I will not give you the space to hurl your accusations of false allegations at me. If you don’t believe my story, there are many other blogs you can read. If you choose to attack my credibility and integrity by attempting to post comments calling me a liar, bitter, vindictive, etc, I will not publish your comments.

10 thoughts on ““Let Her Scream. No One Will Hear Her”

  1. Excellent! This IS your blog. This IS your story of truth. There is absolutely NO PLACE here for secondary abuse and harassment from brainwashed people that have no idea what the FACTS are; have no interest in hearing your side of the story. Thank you for protecting yourself from these kind of predators. And yes, they ARE predators – of a different kind – and the hurt and trauma they inflict with their words is no different that the physical abuse suffered.

  2. Cathy:
    I am so sorry for what happened to you.
    Do you feel that the investigations being done now are going to bring this to light?
    I hope these people do not get away with this. There has to be many other victims of these people? Do you think that this pastor is still abusing someone?

    I hope that justice will be served before they all die off!
    I hope and prey that you have a very loving and peaceful life now.

  3. Cathy:
    I just read some of the previous posts and replies and see that you do have a lot of support and this has now gone to the police – so please ignore my questions above.
    I pray that these people pay for their crimes NOW by our court systems – what GOD chooses to do or not is not our business.
    You are a much stronger person than I am – I was never abused – but if this happened to me or anyone I know – you can bet I would be seeking vengeance!!
    Kathleen

  4. I too am a survivor of abuse by “godly” people, men and women who claimed that they were serving God, A non denominational cult called The Move. I have reported what I remember to authorities but hav enever heard back from anyone. I know how it feels to be told you are a liar etc etc. My main abuser was my own father, so for that reason I hav eno family support either. I hope you find the peace you are looking for and we should all continue to tell our stories so that other children are not victimized

    • Thank you trusting me with a part of your story.

      I’m sorry you weren’t believed. Don’t know what SOL exist where you live, but have to ever considered trying again and having a victims advocate accompany you? Personally, I’ve found I was received much better with a victims advocate.

      Here’s a list of all of the victims of crime advocate groups. Scroll down, find your state and look for an agency near you.

      Here’s the link to Godly Response to Abuse in the Christian Environment facebook page too.

  5. Pingback: He Didn’t Pay the Fee. Burn Her! | Once Lost Child

  6. I know what it’s like to not be believed. I also understand it taking a lifetime to feel the courage to speak out…even anonymously. I’m so sorry for what you’ve been through. I’m also horrified by anyone who might read your story here, in the safety of your own blog using anonymity, and STILL criticize or attack you..or accuse you of lying ever, much less HERE 😦 Please keep writing your story.

Thoughts?

